fairbettingsites.com | Sign in | Contact Us

Brayton wins his first premier class heat race and Byrne earns his best finish of the season.

St. Louis Results


Apr 18, 2010






Contact: David Evans
Muscle Milk/Toyota/JGRMX Team Media Relations
(704) 293-3745
St. Louis Results
HUNTERSVILLE, N.C. (April 18, 2010) – The Edward Jones Dome in St. Louis, Mo. was host to round 14 of the AMA Supercross Championship. The first race held at the venue was in 1996, and was won by Jeff Emig. Emig, a Missouri native, is now the color announcer for the SPEED and CBS supercross broadcasts. Another bit of trivia, the last supercross race won by Ricky Carmichael before venturing into NASCAR was St. Louis. 
Justin Brayton won his first premier class heat race, giving the rookie an opportunity to be interviewed on the podium in front of 59,882 fans, and the CBS television crew. Michael Byrne also transferred directly to the main event from his heat race.
In the main event the Muscle Milk/Toyota/JGRMX teammates started the race mid pack and followed one another forward. The friendly rivals battled with each other as they cut through the pack. After 20 hard laps it was Brayton sixth at the checkers with Byrne seventh. Byrne’s finish was his best this season.  
With only three rounds left in the AMA Supercross Championship, the Muscle Milk/Toyota/JGRMX Team is starting to focus on the upcoming Lucas Oil AMA Pro Motocross Championship Series that starts on May 22. Dean Baker, the team’s engine development technician is fine tuning a special engine configuration for the higher speeds and loamy soft terrain found on the outdoor circuit. Jonny Oler, the suspension development technician is spending hundreds of hours on the Roehrig dyno at the shop, as well as countless hours at the test track with Josh Grant refining the fork and shock settings for the upcoming series. With Grant having won an overall victory in the series last year, and Justin Brayton winning the final moto of the series in 2009, the team is looking forward to a very strong year outdoors in 2010.  
The original broadcast from St. Louis airs today at 2:00 p.m. (EST) on CBS. The 15th round of the 17-race series will be on April 24 in Seattle, Wash. The original broadcast from Seattle will air on SPEED at 6:00 p.m. (EST) April 25.