fairbettingsites.com | Sign in | Contact Us

Justin Brayton and newly signed replacement rider Michael Byrne earn top-10 finishes at the second of three stops at Angel Stadium during the 2010 AMA Supercross Series.

Anaheim II Results


Jan 24, 2010







Contact: David Evans
Muscle Milk/Toyota/JGRMX Team Media Relations
(704) 293-3745
Anaheim II Results
Brayton and Byrne Earn Top-10 Finishes  
HUNTERSVILLE, N.C. (January 24, 2010) – After a week of torrential rain prior to the second 2010 Anaheim event, the Feld Entertainment crew pulled off a miracle in delivering an outstanding track for racing. Anticipating the deluge, the promoters constructed the track earlier than usual, and covered the track. They also stock piled a stash of nearby dirt. When the skies cleared Saturday morning, the crew, who had been pumping off water the entire week, pulled off the covers, used equipment to scrape away and remove mud, and bring in the stored dry dirt. The result was near perfect conditions for the second of three visits to Angel Stadium during the series.
Both Muscle Milk/Toyota/JGRMX Team riders, Justin Brayton and the recently signed Michael Byrne easily qualified for the main event, although Brayton overcame a major challenge. After being involved in some first turn contact in his heat race, Brayton had to pick himself up off the ground, restart his YZ450F, and chase down the pack to qualify from the heat race and avoid the last chance qualifier.
In the main event, Byrne started seventh with Brayton right behind him. Throughout the 20 laps, the positions changed within a narrow range with Brayton earning a hard fought sixth and Byrne, in his first race on the new bike and with less than a week to test, ninth.
Josh Grant, recovering from recent shoulder surgery was on-hand signing autographs, and talking to the media, as well as being interviewed by the floor announcer.   
The fourth round of the 17-race series will be Jan. 30 at AT&T Park in San Francisco, Calif. The original broadcast will air on Jan. 31 on CBS at 12:00 p.m. (EST).