fairbettingsites.com | Sign in | Contact Us

The treacherous Southwick sand was drenched by tropical depression Danny making for some tough conditions in New England.

JGRMX Toyota/Yamaha Southwick Results


Aug 30, 2009





Contact: David Evans
JGRMX/Toyota/Yamaha Team Media Relations
(704) 293-3745
JGRMX/Toyota/Yamaha Southwick Results
HUNTERSVILLE, N.C. (August 30, 2009) – Like much of New England, the Moto X 338 track in Southwick, Mass. is rich in history. The track is owned by American Legion Post 338, hence the name Moto X 338. The first race at the track was held in 1972 and its first professional race was in 1976. As was the case last week, the weather was a major issue. Tropical depression Danny soaked the area, and being the only sand track on the circuit, the conditions were especially challenging for both the riders and the engines which have to work extra hard to pull through the soft surface.   
Christian Craig, substituting for Josh Grant started the first moto 24th with Cody Cooper just ahead in 21st. The JGRMX/Toyota/Yamaha riders persistently advanced through field in the wet sand. By lap 12 Craig had moved up to 12th position and was still charging forward only to have his clutch fall victim to the notorious Southwick sand ending his moto and being credited with 29th. Cooper finished the moto in 13th.
In the second moto, Craig started the race in 13th and steadily moved toward the front finding himself in the top-five with just one lap to go. Unfortunately a small mistake just a few turns from the finish relegated Craig back to eighth, still a very good moto for the 18 year-old rookie in just his third professional race. Cooper could not seem to find his rhythm in the second moto and finished 25th. Cooper’s 13-25 scores gave him 19th overall. Craig’s 29-8 finishes earned him 15th overall.  
After 11 of 12 rounds the series points standings are:         
1. Chad Reed 459               6. Thomas Hahn 259
2. Andrew Short 356           7. Justin Brayton 214
3. Ivan Tedesco 338           8. Cody Cooper 184
4. Michael Byrne 316           9. Nick Wey 182
5. Josh Grant 280             10. Jimmy Albertson 164
The final round of the Lucas Oil AMA Pro Motocross Championship will take place Sept. 5 at Steel City Raceway in Delmont, Pa. The first motos of both the 250 and 450 Classes will air live on www.allisports.com beginning at 1:00 p.m. (EST). The second 450 moto will be broadcast on SPEED at 12:00 a.m. (EST).