fairbettingsites.com | Sign in | Contact Us

Josh Grant wins moto one while Cody Cooper is involved in first turn problems, then Grant is hampered with a first turn crash in moto two and has to come through the field.

JGRMX Toyota/Yamaha Millville Results


Jul 18, 2009





Contact: David Evans
JGRMX/Toyota/Yamaha Team Media Relations
(704) 293-3745
JGRMX/Toyota/Yamaha Millville Results
HUNTERSVILLE, N.C. (July 18, 2009) – Spring Creek Motocross Park in Millville, Minn. has been a regular stop on the tour since 1983, and was host to round seven of the Lucas Oil AMA Pro Motocross Championship. The track is known for its long sandy whoop section, complete with a mascot called the Whoop Monster.      
Earlier in the week, Josh Grant suffered a crash while riding at the JGRMX/Toyota/Yamaha practice compound. Grant was taken to a nearby hospital for evaluation and was released. While he sustained no serious injury, he was badly bruised and arrived at Spring Creek very sore. In spite of the setback, Grant posted the fastest lap in qualifying practice.
Grant began the first moto in third position. He moved into second on the first lap and into the lead on the second lap. Grant then led every lap to the finish to take the moto win. Cody Cooper was involved in a first turn crash, and was in 26th on the first lap. Cooper methodically charged through the pack to finish 12th.
In the second moto it was Grant on the ground in a first turn crash, with Cooper starting well inside the top-10. Grant remounted and started in 40th position, 20 seconds behind the pack. While Cooper fought for position at the front of the field, Grant worked his way through half of the class to 19th by lap seven. At the checkers it was Cooper in eighth and Grant in tenth. Grant’s 1-10 moto scores earned him fourth overall for the day, while Cooper’s 12-8 finishes gave him ninth.        
After seven of twelve rounds the 450 Class series points are:
1. Chad Reed 287               6. Cody Cooper 157
2. Andrew Short 250           7. Thomas Hahn 149
3. Ivan Tedesco 238           8. Mike Alessi 142
4. Josh Grant 234             9. Ricky Dietrich 136
5. Michael Byrne 186           10. Justin Brayton 127

The next round of the series will be on July 25 at Washougal MX Park, in Washougal, Wash. The first motos of both the 250 and 450 Classes will air live on www.allisports.com beginning at 4:40 p.m. (EST) with the first 450 Class moto starting at 5:40 p.m. (EST). The second 450 moto will be broadcast live on SPEED starting at 9:00 p.m. (EST).